Diet Tip of the Day #1

After my article was published in the Grimsby Evening Telegraph – I got a few comments asking how I did it, how I lost all that weight. Firstly I’d like to point out that I’m far from anything even close to an expert and so all I can offer is my own personal experiences, and saying that – I’m guilty of putting on a “little” Christmas weight – nothing like the photos of the first race of the year on New Years day to spur your motivation to get back on the diet track!

Now my disclaimer is out the way I’m going to add hints and tips based on my own experience of weight loss as and when I am able and they come to me. So here’s number one…

DRINK!

(No, not “and be merry” I’m afraid – that was last night…) – I mean water mainly, but diluted fruit juice is ok if you find water rather unpalatable. Even electrolyte and/or carbohydrate based sports drinks are fine so long as your training demands them.

Ok, so we all know we should be drinking at least 8 glasses of water a day…

Firstly, this seems a little excessive until you realise that a glass = 250ml. That’s half the size of a sports drink bottle. Caffine is not fab for you but we all have our vices and there’s water in a cup of tea or coffee, so throughout the day, x 8 glasses is easily achievable.

Secondly, why? I’m sure a doctor would be able to tell you all that stuff but what I discovered is that it helps curve my appetite, or at least curbs my thirst when I’ve mis-read my body’s signals and confused thirst with hunger.

Basically, it seems the body is rather rubbish at dealing with thirst. From what I’ve read it seems that by the time your brain is reading “I’m thirsty, go get a drink”, you are already rather dehydrated. There’s a test that’s got something to do with the colour of your pee which is applicable to people doing long distance running and other endurance sports but as far as helping appetite goes I’d suggest this:

When you feel hungry, you might actually be thirsty, only your brain is being stupid and getting mixed up. So try having a drink first – then wait (it takes around 20 minutes for your stomach to register something is in it and tell your brain). If after 20 minutes or so you still feel hungry, then fine, it probably was hunger, so what you waiting for? Go eat! If however you find you are actually ok, then how annoying would have it been if you’d just gone and scoffed a few hundred calories just cos your brain was being stupid.

Even better, prevent the mixed signals from your brain in the first place by staying hydrated throughout the day.

Lay off the fizzy pop though – you know that stuffs gonna rot your teeth!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Diet Tip of the Day #1

  1. Lynsey says:

    Hi Gemma,

    I saw your article in the Grimsby Telegraph. What a great story and a brilliant blog! Well done with everything. I wondered if I could chat to you? I’m a feature writer for magazines. I thought you would make a really inspirational interviewee and wondered if you might be interested in telling your story? The company I work for is called Ross Parry and we write for all the national women’s magazines. If you think it could be something you’re interested in then please give me a call or email me at featuredesk@rossparry.co.uk. My mobile number is 07969 038067.

    I look forward to hearing from you.

    All the best,

    Lynsey Clarke

Leave a Reply

